Skip to content

Slither – Knitty: Fall 2008

September 11, 2008

Inspired by the elegance of fall, I combined two of my favorite things to knit (stripes and mitts) to create these fancy snake-bellied gauntlets. Worked from the top down, back and forth to the wrist, these snug-fitting mitts knit up quickly and will keep your arms cozy while you slink through your day or night.

Slither: FREE

Knitty | Fall 2008

Model: Emma Roberts


Tips For This Project:

SLITHER CHART to help with decreases, buttonholes, and stripes.

• To avoid having to buy a second skein of MC, you can substitute one strand of very closely matching worsted weight wool you may have in your stash when working the cuff. Though, in all honesty, a nearly-whole skein of Cascade 220 is never unwelcome in my house.

• Buttons can also be attached as-you-knit, then reinforced on the wrong side during finishing.

• Shown here with Dill Buttons #D379 (5/8”) and #D381 (7/8″) purchased at Michael Levine in Los Angeles.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    September 28, 2009 7:00 am

    I absolutely love these gloves, and would love to make some for myself and my sister. However, I am not as knit savvy as most of the people on ravelry, and I am having a hard time understanding all of the abbreviations. Do you have a different version of the pattern?? Also, if I was to do it all in the MC, would that make it easier for me to make??

  2. Nellie permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:03 pm

    These are fabulous! Its coming into summer here, but I’ll definitely be whipping them up for our winter.

  3. Cheri permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:03 pm

    So cute! I love these!

  4. mismonster permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:03 pm

    **addendum*** I meant UNDER the picture in the notation. I couldn’t remember you last name until Miss Ivonne clued me in

  5. Anonymous permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:04 pm

    Congrats! I just saw these on Knitty and had to check out your blog to see what else you’re up to. I hope to see more of the same – really cool and well-designed, leaving plenty of room for self expression! I bet there will be plenty of these in Ravelry. Anne Marie

  6. IrishGirl permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:04 pm

    I LOVE the buttons you used! Where did you get them? Thx, Bren

  7. racheleanore permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:05 pm

    These are so cool and I would LOVE to make them! But I don’t understand like 80% of the instructions. I’m a knitting noob.

  8. Amy permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:05 pm

    I just discovered knitty, and I love your gauntlets — they’re absolutely gorgeous! I think the buttons just make them too cool for words. I can’t wait to make a pair. 😀

  9. KelleBelle permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:06 pm

    So freaking awesome! Love the button-up idea and combining stripes & solids. Dude, you rock!

  10. Emma permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:06 pm

    I saw these on knitty yesterday.. I’ve never tried intarsia, but these are so funky and generally awesome that I’m going to learn as soon as I finish my current project!

  11. mismonster permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:06 pm

    I THOUGHT I recognized you in that Knitty picture (I was on the website). But it’s been about 8 years since I’ve seen you. Awesome pattern! I’ve been hunting for all my materials to make them. <3Elena

  12. Julia (MindofWinter) permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:06 pm

    These are so clever and stylish – go you! If you ever want to meet up with some other LA knitters, let me know – I’m mindofwinter on ravelry – a bunch of us get together periodically and knit, spin and gab on my side porch. We are kid friendly, with several moms in the group. It may be a little while before we hang out again, since I just had my first son three weeks ago, but if you want to come next time let me know and I’ll add you to the roll call.

  13. vicki permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:08 pm

    this look great! can’t wait to knit them!

  14. RockLove permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:09 pm

    I adore these, but don’t knit – do you sell them anywhere? They are stunning!
    Allison

  15. cutterkayoss permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:09 pm

    this looks absolutely great, found the pattern on knitty, have the perfect yarn to use…. i only scanned the directions, but i want to make it in one (variegated) color. any instructions i should change, aside from simply ignoring the intarsia stuff?

  16. VO knits permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:09 pm

    Hi Anja! I’d love to help. Please email me: voknits@gmail.com

    Glad you like the pattern!

  17. Jade permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:09 pm

    These are beautiful! I’ve been looking for an arm-warmer pattern, and I’m so pleased to see this!

  18. magickat1313 permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:10 pm

    These look fabulous. I really want to make them for a good friend of mine, but I don’t get the arm part of the pattern. I don’t understand how to do both the color part and the shaping part at the same time when they are both different from each other. Help!

    • April 24, 2010 4:13 pm

      I am also struggling with the shaping/decrease and color at the same time. Can you please simplify this for me? I am soooo stuck after the cuff and so excited to be making these. How do the 11 rows fit in? I don’t see it. Where are they inserted? I just don’t see it. Please help! Thanks

  19. Andrea permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:16 pm

    Hi. So I did a search on “slither” to see if someone had indeed come up with a cheat sheet for the stripes and decreases and I found you. Can you share? teamandrea@gmail.com

  20. Tiffany (aka: mieljolie) permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:26 pm

    I love this pattern!!! Someone made them for me for a swap and I just love how they turned out. I can’t help gushing about them to anyone who compliments them! You can see the results here:

    http://www.craftster.org/forum/index.php?topic=294704.msg3359672#msg3359672

    I also wanted to tell you I bestowed an award to you and your blog. You can read about it at:

    http://tabistry.blogspot.com/2009/04/proximidade-blog-award.html

    Cheers,

    Tiffany (Milejolie)

  21. V O k n i t s . c o m permalink
    October 2, 2009 4:10 pm

    Hello, Sarah! There is a list of abbreviations available on Knitty.com here: (http://knitty.com/ISSUEfall08/patterns.html#ksbbb)
    Since they are the ones that edited and published the pattern, this is the best resource to use to for understanding all the abbreviations, though I am happy to help with anything specific. And yes, the gloves will be easier to make in one solid color. Simply cross out or disregard all color work directions. I can also help with that if you’d like to email me: voknits@gmail.com Thanks for the comment!

  22. May 5, 2010 1:45 pm

    Hi! I was getting set to cast these on and wanted to get the XLS chart but the link doesn’t work. Is there somewhere else I can get it? Thanks!

  23. Luna Magnolia permalink
    January 4, 2011 3:43 pm

    If I were to knit this, with al;ternating stripes of MC and CC, would I still have to carry the cc yarn throughout the stripes of mc? if so, how?

    • January 4, 2011 4:04 pm

      Yes, you would still have to carry the yarn. I would wind a smaller ball of MC and call it CC1, just to keep things clear. That way you can follow the pattern as written and not have to worry about modifying things.

Trackbacks

  1. Slither Sweater « VO Knits by Veronica O'Neil

Leave a Reply

